Did you know that an estimated 11 million Americans have a suspended driver’s license? Many are in Oregon, which has fortunately stopped debt-related restrictions on driving privileges.
However, there are many other reasons why Oregon suspends licenses, including traffic offenses. It depends on the violation, but driving on a suspended license in Beaver State can be a felony.
For that reason, it’s imperative to understand the state’s license suspension laws. We’ve outlined what you need to know below, so read on.
What Does a Suspended License Mean?
A suspended license is a temporary cessation of driving privileges.
If your license gets suspended, the Oregon Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) takes it away. And while they have it, it’s illegal for you to drive. You can get that privilege back, but you have to wait for some time until the court lifts your suspension.
Depending on the reasons for the suspension, you might have to wait for 30 days to 10 years. You then have to pay a $75 reinstatement fee to retrieve your license once your suspension period is over. After that, you get your driver’s license back with your driving privileges.
Oregon Laws on Driving With a Suspended License
The Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 811.182 codifies the state’s suspended license laws.
ORS 811.182 indicates that driving on a suspended license can classify as either a violation or a crime. The latter, in turn, can be a misdemeanor or class B felony.
The charge you can get slapped with depends on why you got your license suspended in the first place.
For example, suppose your suspension was due to not paying a traffic ticket. Or perhaps you’ve had four traffic infractions within the last couple of years. In both scenarios, getting caught driving on a suspended license may only be a violation.
What if the reason for your license suspension was driving under the influence? In that case, you might get a misdemeanor charge if caught driving with a suspended license.
When can driving with a suspended license become a class B felony then? That can happen if the reason for the suspension is a criminal case like assault or felony DUI.
Consequences of Driving on a Suspended License
A standard driving-on-a-suspended license violation carries a maximum fine of $2,000. On the other hand, a Class A misdemeanor can lead to a penalty of up to $6,250 plus 364 days of imprisonment. By contrast, a Class B felony comes with a fine of up to $250,000 and a jail time of no more than ten years.
Avoiding Oregon’s Suspended License Penalties
The best way to avoid getting your license suspended is to abide by Oregon’s general driving laws. That includes exercising care while driving and having an up-to-date auto insurance policy.
If you’ve committed a severe violation, such as a DUI, search for “cheap sr22 insurance near me” online ASAP. It’s imperative to get this immediately; otherwise, you’re likely to face suspension.
Never Drive on a Suspended License
As you can see, driving on a suspended license in Oregon can lead to hefty fines and even jail time.
That should be enough reason always to drive prudently. Be sure your auto insurance meets the state’s requirements, too. Doing so can help reduce your risks of getting your license suspended in the first place.
Are you looking for other informative guides like this? Then please feel free to check out more of our blog now!